What Are The Penalties for Domestic Violence in Tennessee?

If you face charges of domestic violence, please read on, then contact an experienced Memphis domestic violence defense lawyer to learn what the penalties are for domestic violence in Tennessee.

How does Tennessee define domestic violence?

For law enforcement to consider an assault as domestic violence, the act of assault must have occurred between one of the following parties:

  • People who are legally married, or those who were once married
  • Anyone who has a child together
  • Anyone related by blood, adoption or marriage
  • Anyone involved in a romantic relationship
  • Roommates

What happens if you sustain a conviction for domestic violence in Tennessee?

  • Class A misdemeanor domestic assault: Up to 11 months and 29 days of incarceration and a potential fine of $15,000.
  • Class B misdemeanor domestic assault: Up to six months of incarceration and a potential $500 fine. In some cases, the judge can order an additional fine of $100 to $200.
  • Class C felony aggravated assault: Between three and 15 years of incarceration and a potential fine of up $10,00.
  • Class D felony aggravated assault: Between two and 12 years of incarceration and a potential fine of $5,000. You can also face an additional $200 fine.

At a minimum, you will likely have an order of protection issued against you, restricting you from communicating with someone who feels threatened by your behavior and accuses you of domestic violence. If your alleged offense involved a sex crime, you may also be required to undergo sex offender registration.

That is why it is crucial that you have a skilled Memphis criminal defense attorney working on your behalf.

How can a Shelby County criminal defense attorney help you?

You should understand that there are various potential defenses our firm can use if you have been accused of domestic violence. A qualified legal representative could help you prove you were acting in self-defense, you were defending another family member, such as a child, from an act of domestic violence, the accuser is being untruthful or that such an act never occurred. Additionally, if law enforcement failed to follow a course of conduct prescribed by law, your charges may be subject to reduction or dismissal. In any event, you should not tackle these charges on your own. Please give us a call today.

Contact Our Experienced Memphis Firm

No one should ever have to recover from a serious injury or deal with a pressing criminal matter on their own. We pride ourselves in assisting clients facing a wide range of legal issues throughout Memphis, Tennessee, and we are ready to help you, too. If you need assistance with a personal injury, criminal, or business litigation matter, you can turn to us. Contact Ballin, Ballin & Fishman, P.C. today to schedule your free initial consultation with our experienced legal team. 

Latest Blog Posts
Defending Against Drug Possession Charges in Tennessee
What should I do if I’m injured on the job in Tennessee?
What happens if I get a second DUI in Tennessee?