If you face DUI charges, please read on, then contact an experienced Memphis DUI defense lawyer to learn if you will lose your driver’s license after a DUI in Tennessee.
Will a DUI cost you your Tennessee driver’s license?
Yes, a DUI can lead to a revocation fo your driver’s license for up to one year, depending on the circumstances. At a minimum, offenders convicted of a DUI in Tennessee will get 48 hours in jail, unless their blood alcohol content was .20 or higher, then the minimum is 7 days. However, a first time DUI can earn you up to 11 months and 29 days in jail as well as a $350 to $1,500 fine. You may also be ordered to attend an alcohol and treatment program. If you qualify for one, you may apply for a hardship or conditional license. Keep in mind, these penalties only apply to a first offense. Subsequent offenses have more severe penalties.
What happens for second, third or subsequent DUI convictions?
As noted above, the penalties for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs will depend on the number of times, if any, you have previously sustained convictions for this offense. A host of penalties come with each one, but for the purposes of this blog, we will focus on how convictions affect your driving privileges in the state of Tennessee. The suspensions are as follows:
- First offense: License suspension of up to 1 year
- Second offense: License suspension of up to 2 years; possibility for hardship or conditional license, restricting license to work, school or court-ordered program, along with the installation of an ignition interlock device
- Third offense: License suspension of 6 to 10 years, no possibility of hardship or conditional license
- Fourth or subsequent offense: License suspension of 8 years, no restricted license available
How can a Tennessee criminal defense attorney prevent you from losing your driver’s license?
We would be remiss if we did not inform you that under Tennessee law, DUI convictions can never be expunged, and permanently remain a part of public record. Reaching out to a skilled Memphis criminal defense attorney to discuss your next steps can make a world of difference. Your rights may have been violated without you being aware of it. A qualified legal professional will question the legitimacy of the police officers’ probable cause and the reliability of their tests. Your charges may be subject to reduction or even dismissal. Let our firm fight for you and your future.
Contact Our Experienced Memphis Firm
No one should ever have to recover from a serious injury or deal with a pressing criminal matter on their own. We pride ourselves in assisting clients facing a wide range of legal issues throughout Memphis, Tennessee, and we are ready to help you, too. If you need assistance with a personal injury, criminal, or business litigation matter, you can turn to us. Contact Ballin, Ballin & Fishman, P.C. today to schedule your free initial consultation with our experienced legal team.