In Tennessee, if you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or greater, you are considered driving while under the influence (DUI) of illegal substances. The state of Tennessee carries harsh penalties for DUI. When a motorist does not abide by the rules of the road and operates a vehicle while they are intoxicated, they put everyone on the road’s safety at risk. This is because alcohol severely hinders one’s critical driving capabilities to operate a vehicle safely. The consequences of DUI vary in severity depending on your BAC level and whether this is your first conviction. In addition, you can face an array of fines, license revocation, vehicle forfeiture, installation of an ignition interlock device, and even jail time. Please read on and contact a trusted Memphis DUI Defense Lawyer if you have been charged with a first-offense DUI. It is imperative to retain legal assistance as soon as possible. Our firm can help you understand your legal options.
What are the potential penalties for a first-offense DUI in Tennessee?
In Tennessee, drunk driving is a serious offense and those convicted should expect to face significant penalties for their reckless driving behavior. The penalties for a first-offense DUI are less severe than those for a second or third conviction. Nevertheless, the repercussions are still severe. If you are charged with a first-offense DUI you can expect the following penalties:
- Fines of up to $1,500
- 1-year license revocation
- Mandatory completion of a drug and alcohol substance abuse treatment program
- Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device
- 48 hours to 11 months and 29 days in jail
In Tennessee, you can face jail time for a first-offense DUI. It is imperative to note that the higher your BAC level, the more severe the penalties. For instance, if you have a documented BAC of 0.20% or greater, you will face mandatory jail time for at least 7 days.
What if I am under the age of 21?
In the U.S., you have to be 21 years old or older to purchase, possess, and consume alcohol. If you are under the age of 21 and operate a vehicle while you are intoxicated you will face less punitive penalties than if you were above the age of 21. The penalties for an underage DUI include fines, community service, and license suspension. However, a first-offense underage DUI does not result in jail time. Nevertheless, the penalties are still significant and can negatively impact your life.
In the unfortunate event that you or someone you love has been charged with a first-offense DUI, please don’t hesitate to contact one of our adept and determined team members. It is imperative to retain the legal services of an experienced lawyer as soon as possible who can defend your rights and interests. Allow our firm to fight on your behalf.