Domestic violence charges have the power to rip a family apart and put a person behind bars for years, which is why if you are currently facing these charges, you need a knowledgeable Memphis domestic violence defense lawyer on your side. Contact Ballin, Ballin & Fishman, PC today.
Should I Hire a Memphis Domestic Violence Defense Lawyer?
Tennessee courts take domestic violence charges very seriously, which is why you should as well. The best defense against a domestic violence charge is a knowledgeable Memphis criminal defense lawyer.
Domestic Violence Defined
Domestic violence in Tennessee is defined as committing an act of assault on a current or former spouse, roommate, dating/sexual partner, or anyone related by blood, adoption, or marriage. An act of assault between parent and child is also considered an act of domestic violence.
Assault is defined as intentionally or recklessly either causing bodily injury to another person or giving them a reason to believe they are at risk of bodily injury. An act of physical contact that a reasonable person would consider provocative or offensive is also considered assault in Tennesee. You should understand that domestic violence can occur across all genders, races, and sexual orientations.
The Penalties for a Domestic Violence Conviction in Tennessee
If you are accused of domestic violence, depending on the circumstances surrounding the alleged crime, you will face various potential consequences. The consequences for various domestic violence charges in Tennessee are as follows:
- Class A misdemeanor domestic assault: Up to 11 months and 29 days of incarceration and a potential $15,000 fine.
- Class B misdemeanor domestic assault: Up to six months of incarceration and a potential $500 fine. In some cases, the judge can order an additional $100-$200 fine.
- Class C felony aggravated assault: Between three and 15 years of incarceration and a potential $10,000 fine.
- Class D felony aggravated assault: Between two and 12 years of incarceration and a potential $5,000 fine. You can also face an additional $200 fine.
You should also note that if you’ve been convicted of an act of domestic violence in the past and this is your second or subsequent charge, you can expect to face additional penalties, including mandatory jail time, high fines, and restitution to the victim. Any degree of domestic assault requires the attention of an experienced Memphis domestic violence defense lawyer.
Contact a Memphis Domestic Violence Defense Lawyer
Domestic violence charges can alter your life forever. Don’t make the mistake of hiring just any attorney to represent you at this critical time. Our firm is here to help. Contact Ballin, Ballin, & Fishman, PC today to schedule your free initial consultation with our aggressive legal team.