MemphisDUI Defense Lawyer

If you’ve been charged with a DUI, you mustn’t wait to speak with a competent Memphis DUI defense lawyer here at Ballin, Ballin & Fishman, PC. We know just how extensively DUI convictions can impact a person’s life, and our job is to help mitigate that impact on your behalf. Contact us today to learn more about DUI charges in Tennessee and how our firm can help combat them.

Do I Need a Memphis DUI Defense Lawyer?

Have you received a DUI? If so, you’re most likely wondering whether it’s truly necessary to hire an attorney. The short answer is that without a Memphis criminal defense lawyer on your side, you will most likely face the full ramifications of a DUI conviction, which can significantly affect your life for years down the road. We are prepared to assist you today. We are on your side.

Penalties for a First-Offense DUI in Tennessee

Even for a first-offense DUI in Tennessee, you can expect to face some very significant penalties that may affect your life for months, or even years, down the road. The penalties for a first-offense DUI in Tennessee are as follows:

  • Anywhere between 48 hours to 11 months and 29 days in jail (at least 7 mandatory days in jail if BAC was higher than .20%)
  • A 1-year driver’s license revocation
  • A potential $1,500 fine
  • Mandatory participation in a drug and alcohol treatment program
  • Mandatory installation of the ignition interlock device in your vehicle, at your own cost

Penalties for a Second-Offense DUI in Tennessee

Once you are accused of a second DUI, you can expect that courts in Tennessee will treat you as a repeat offender. This means you can expect to face the following penalties:

  • Anywhere between 45 days to 11 months and 29 days in jail
  • A 2-year driver’s license revocation
  • A potential $3,500 fine
  • Mandatory participation in a drug and alcohol treatment program
  • Potential seizure/forfeiture of your vehicle
  • Mandatory installation of the ignition interlock device, at your own cost

Penalties for a Third-Offense DUI in Tennessee

If this is your third DUI in Tennessee, you most likely understand that you will face even harsher consequences than you ever have before. Some of the penalties for a third-offense DUI in Tennessee are as follows:

  • Anywhere between 120 days to 11 months and 29 days in jail
  • A 6-year driver’s license revocation
  • A potential $10,000 fine
  • Mandatory participation in a drug and alcohol treatment program
  • Potential seizure/forfeiture of your vehicle
  • Mandatory installation of the ignition interlock device, at your own cost

Penalties for a Fourth or Subsequent DUI in Tennessee

For a fourth or subsequent DUI in the state of Tennessee, you can expect to face the following criminal penalties:

  • 1 year of jail time with a minimum of 150 consecutive days served
  • An 8-year driver’s license revocation
  • A potential $15,000 fine
  • Mandatory participation in a drug and alcohol treatment program
  • Potential seizure/forfeiture of your vehicle
  • Mandatory installation of the ignition interlock device, at your own cost

Rather obviously, no one who receives a fourth or subsequent DUI in Tennessee should proceed without the services of an experienced Memphis DUI lawyer on their side. Our firm is prepared to fight for you, every step of the way.

Refusing to Submit to Blood Alcohol Testing in Tennessee

Tennessee observes “implied consent.” Essentially, “implied consent” means that if a law enforcement officer has reasonable suspicion that someone is operating their motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, the officer has the legal authority to require the driver to submit to chemical testing. This can either be blood, urine, or, most commonly for alcohol-related offenses, breath tests. If you refuse to take a breathalyzer, you can expect to face some very harsh penalties. For a first offense, you will face a driver’s license revocation of one year. For a second, offense, you will most likely lose your driver’s license for two years.

Penalties for a DUI with a Commercial Driver’s License

If you operate a commercial vehicle for a living, such as an 18-wheeler, you are held to an even higher standard than drivers who do not operate commercial vehicles. For example, while you need a BAC of .08% to be arrested for a DUI in Tennessee, those with commercial driver’s licenses are only required to have a BAC of .04% to be charged with a DUI. That said, for a first-offense DUI with a CDL in Tennessee, you can expect to have your CDL suspended for one year. For a second offense, you will most likely have your CDL suspended for life, or for at least 10 years. Obviously, this can drastically impact your career and your life, which is why you shouldn’t face these charges without a Memphis DUI lawyer in your corner.

Penalties for Underage DUIs in Tennessee

When a minor is arrested for driving while intoxicated, he or she can expect to face some very serious consequences. If this was your first offense, you will face either a 1-year driver’s license suspension or a license suspension until you reach the age of 17 (whichever is longer). For a second offense, you will receive either a 2-year license suspension or a license suspension until you reach the age of 18 (whichever is longer). Though you may receive a restricted license to allow you to travel to work, school, and doctor’s appointments after a first offense, this privilege is no longer available for a second offense.

Contact a Memphis DUI Defense Lawyer

The bottom line is that DUI charges can ruin some people, and no matter the specific circumstances of your DUI, you must proceed with strong legal counsel. Our firm is here to protect your rights through every step of the legal process ahead. We are here to fight for your driving privileges and your freedom. Contact Ballin, Ballin & Fishman, PC today to schedule your free initial consultation with our firm.

Latest Blog Posts
What precautions should I take this Halloween to prevent injury?
What happens if I get a second DUI in Tennessee?
Will You Lose Your Car After a DUI in the state of Tennessee?