The state of Tennessee seeks to harshly punish those found in possession of controlled dangerous substances, which is why if you are facing any sort of drug charge, you need a competent Memphis drug crime lawyer on your side. Contact Ballin, Ballin & Fishman, PC today.
Memphis Drug Crime Lawyer | On Your Side
Were you recently wrongfully charged with the possession or intent to sell a controlled dangerous substance? Do you have a substance abuse issue and are now facing legal troubles? You can depend on a Memphis criminal defense lawyer here at our firm to assist you.
Marijuana-Related Penalties in Tennessee
Though many states in the U.S. have loosened their restrictions on marijuana possession, and many have even legalized the recreational sale and use of the drug, this is not the case in Tennessee. If you are caught in possession of even one-half ounce or less of the drug, you will face the following penalties:
- First Offense: A misdemeanor, which can warrant up to one year of incarceration and a mandatory $250 fine.
- Second Offense: A misdemeanor, which can warrant up to one year of incarceration and a mandatory $500 fine.
If you are found with more than one half-ounce of marijuana, you will be charged with possession with the intent to distribute the drug. The consequences of these charges are as follows:
- Between 1/2 oz and 10 pounds: A felony, which can warrant between one and six years of incarceration and a potential $5,000 fine.
- Between 10 and 70 pounds: A felony, which can warrant between two and 12 years of incarceration and a potential $50,000 fine
- Between 70 and 300 pounds: A felony, which can warrant between eight and 30 years of incarceration and a potential $10,000 fine.
- More than 300 pounds: A felony, which can warrant between 15 and 60 years of incarceration and a potential $200,000 fine.
You should also understand that if this is your second or subsequent offense, you can expect to face even harsher criminal penalties.
Penalties for the Possession of Controlled Dangerous Substances in Tennessee
There are various drugs that are federally scheduled, known as controlled dangerous substances. These drugs range from heroin, cocaine, and methamphetamines, to LSD, marijuana, and even certain prescription medications. If you are caught in possession of any of these scheduled drugs without a prescription, you will face very serious criminal penalties.
For example, for a first or second possession charge, you will face Class A misdemeanor penalties, which can entail up to one year of incarceration and a potential $2,500 fine. For a third or subsequent possession charge, you can face a Class E felony, which comes with up to six years of incarceration and a potential $3,000 fine. You should also note that if you’re facing drug charges, you may have to do community service and attend drug offender school, at your own cost.
Contact a Memphis Drug Crime Lawyer
Anyone facing drug charges in Tennessee must proceed with the assistance of an experienced and skilled Memphis drug crime lawyer who understands the ins and outs of how these cases are formed and prosecuted. Contact Ballin, Ballin & Fishman, PC to schedule your free initial consultation with our firm.