Those who are facing assault charges in Tennessee should strongly consider speaking with an experienced Memphis assault lawyer who can combat your charges at every turn. Contact Ballin, Ballin & Fishman, PC today to learn more about assault charges in TN and how we can help you through the legal process ahead.
Memphis Assault Lawyer | Helping Those Charged With Assault
If you’ve been charged with assault, you risk jail time, high fines, and developing a criminal record. Our firm is here to help ensure that doesn’t happen. You can depend on a competent Memphis criminal defense lawyer at our firm to fight for you.
Understanding Assault Charges in Tennessee
The first thing you should understand is that there are three types of assault charges a person can face in Tennessee: assault, reckless aggravated assault, and intentional aggravated assault. Each of these charges comes with different definitions and penalties.
For example, you may be charged with simple assault if you are accused of causing bodily injury to another person, threatening to cause imminent bodily injury to another, or by making physical contact with another person that a reasonable person would consider to be offensive or provocative.
That being said, there are certain circumstances that may constitute aggravated assault charges. You may face reckless aggravated assault charges if you recklessly committed an assault that caused someone to sustain serious bodily injury or death, or you used or displayed a deadly weapon.
Finally, intentional aggravated assault is defined as intentionally committing an act of assault that causes serious bodily injury or death, the use of a deadly weapon, or involved strangulation, or an attempt to strangle a person. These charges are the most severe assault charges a person can face.
Consequences of Assault Charges in Tennessee
Whether you are accused of simple assault or intentional aggravated assault, you risk facing a wide array of penalties that can affect your life for years to come. The penalties for the various assault charges in Tennessee are as follows:
- Assault: Typically a Class A misdemeanor, which can warrant up to one year of incarceration and a potential $2,500 fine.
- Reckless Aggravated Assault: A Class D felony, which can warrant a minimum of two years of incarceration and up to 12 years of incarceration.
- Intentional Aggravated Assault: A Class C felony, which can warrant a minimum of three years of incarceration and up to 15 years of incarceration.
Contact a Memphis Assault Lawyer
As you can see, the penalties for an assault conviction of any kind can significantly impact your future. Our firm is here to help. Contact a Memphis assault lawyer here at Ballin, Ballin & Fishman, PC today to schedule your free initial consultation with our aggressive legal team.