In the state of Tennessee, if you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or greater, you will be charged with driving while under the influence (DUI). DUIs carry harsh penalties, one of them being the loss of your driving privileges. If you are convicted of DUI you will be subject to license suspension or revocation. Losing your driving privileges can negatively disturb your life as it affects your ability to travel to important places such as work. Fortunately, under certain circumstances, the court offers those convicted of DUI to obtain a restricted driver’s license, also known as a hardship or conditional license. This type of conditional license allows you to drive under certain circumstances with limited driving privileges. Please continue reading to learn how you can obtain a restricted driver’s license and how a determined Memphis DUI Defense Lawyer can help you protect your driving privileges.
Does Tennessee offer those convicted of DUI a restricted or conditional driver’s license?
In Tennessee, DUI carries significant penalties. If you are convicted of a first DUI offense, you will be subject to a 1-year license revocation. If this is your second DUI offense, you will face a 2-year license revocation. Additionally, if this is your third DUI offense, you will be subject to a 6-year driver’s license revocation. However, if there are any aggravating factors the judge could find it appropriate to grant additional penalties, including extra time added to your suspension or revocation period. As mentioned above, fortunately, for those convicted of DUI, the court offers eligible individuals restricted driver’s licenses. If you are convicted of DUI, you must apply for this type of conditional license. However, if your DUI conviction involved an accident in which a person was killed or suffered serious bodily injury, you will not be eligible for a restricted license. Before you can apply for a restricted license, you are required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle. One of the terms of a restricted license is that you can only operate a vehicle when using an IID. Moreover, you will have to obtain a certified order from the court, obtain an SR-22 from a liability insurance company, and pay a $65 license fee and a $2.00 application fee. You must bring the original certified court order to a Driver Services Center within 10 days of the date of the court order. Furthermore, if you are not eligible for a conditional license, you are not permitted to operate a vehicle until the term of your suspension or revocation period is over. Once that period is over, you can reinstate your license after satisfying any court-ordered requirements, retaking your driver’s examination, installing an ignition interlock device, and paying reinstatement fees.
In the unfortunate event that you have been charged with DUI, it is imperative to retain the legal services of one of our adept and skilled team members. Our firm is committed to helping our clients protect their driving privileges. Allow us to fight on your behalf today!