Driving while under the influence of alcohol can have significant and negative impacts on a person’s life, whether it is their first or subsequent offense. If you recently received a first-offense DUI in Tennessee, our firm is here to help. Read on and reach out to our Memphis DUI defense lawyer to learn about first-offense DUI charges and how we can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have:
What happens if I get my first DUI in Tennessee?
The first thing you should know is that even if this is only your first offense, you can expect to face a wide array of penalties. Some of the consequences you may face for a first-offense DUI in Tennessee are as follows:
- You will face a 1-year driver’s license suspension
- A $1,500 fine
- Between 48 hours and 11 months and 29 days in jail (if your blood alcohol content was higher than .20%, you will have to spend at least 7 days in jail)
- You will have to complete a drug and alcohol treatment program
- You will have to install and use the ignition interlock device in your vehicle
Unfortunately, these penalties can significantly impact you for the rest of your life, especially since you will develop a criminal record. You should also understand that if this is your second or third DUI, you will face even harsher penalties, which is why you simply cannot afford to proceed without an experienced Memphis criminal defense lawyer, whether this is your first, second, or subsequent offense.
What are some common defenses against DUI charges?
Fortunately, with a competent attorney on your side, there are a wide array of potential defenses that may be available to you. For example, we can argue that the officer improperly administered a field sobriety test or breathalyzer test. In other cases, we can argue that there was no probable cause for the officer to stop you, or that the officer made an unlawful arrest. We may even argue that the breathalyzer test administered was faulty and therefore produced results that are inadmissible in court. Of course, the circumstances of your DUI will determine the path we choose in fighting your charges. The bottom line is that anyone accused of driving while under the influence mustn’t proceed without an attorney on their side. Fortunately, you’ve come to the right place.
Contact Our Experienced Memphis Firm
No one should ever have to recover from a serious injury or deal with a pressing criminal matter on their own. We pride ourselves in assisting clients facing a wide range of legal issues throughout Memphis, Tennessee, and we are ready to help you, too. If you need assistance with a personal injury, criminal, or business litigation matter, you can turn to us. Contact Ballin, Ballin & Fishman, P.C. today to schedule your free initial consultation with our experienced legal team.