What happens if I get a second DUI in Tennessee?

Driving while under the influence of alcohol poses an immediate risk to yourself and every other driver on the road. If you’ve already been charged with one DUI in the state of Tennessee, you know that Tennessee doesn’t take DUIs lightly. Being charged with a second DUI in Tennessee will have serious repercussions. If you’ve found yourself in this situation, continue reading and then call a Memphis DUI defense lawyer so that you can get the help you need as you battle these charges.

Will I go to jail after my second DUI?

Accumulating a second DUI is a serious offense, so it’s normal to worry about if it will mean having to serve time in jail. Once you’ve committed your second DUI offense, Tennessee will assume you’re a repeat offender and treat you accordingly. Tennessee law states that a second-offense DUI may mean spending between 45 days and 11 months and 29 days in jail. After you’ve served the minimum jail sentence, the judge may choose to suspend your remaining jail sentence and give you probation. You will then have to complete a substance abuse assessment and abide by any recommendations given to you by the judge.

Will I lose my license after a second DUI in Tennessee?

Getting a DUI in Tennessee will cause the court to suspend your license, regardless of how many DUIs you’ve accumulated. A first offense will cause your license to be suspended for one year, a second offense means having your license suspended for two years, and a third offense will result in the suspension of your license for six years. After your second offense, you may be given a restricted license, which allows you to drive to work, school, and court-ordered programs, albeit after having an ignition interlock device installed in your car.

How can a Memphis criminal defense attorney help?

Legal proceedings can be costly, so you may wonder how necessary it is to hire a Memphis criminal defense attorney. However, DUIs are taken very seriously in Tennessee, and there are a variety of penalties that can fundamentally change your life. If you enlist the help of one of our Memphis criminal defense attorneys, we’ll help you fight these charges and work towards mitigating the repercussions of this offense.

Contact Our Experienced Memphis Firm

If you need assistance with a personal injury, criminal, or business litigation matter, contact Ballin, Ballin & Fishman, P.C. today to schedule your free initial consultation with our experienced legal team. 

Latest Blog Posts
Defending Against Drug Possession Charges in Tennessee
What should I do if I’m injured on the job in Tennessee?
What happens if I get a second DUI in Tennessee?