What to Know About Assault Charges in Tennessee

There are few things more overwhelming than facing criminal charges. If you’ve recently been charged with assault, you need competent legal assistance in your corner. Our firm is on your side. Read on and reach out to our experienced Memphis assault lawyer to learn more about these charges, the consequences you may face, and how we can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have:

How is assault defined in the state of Tennessee?

Each state has its own definition of assault. Here in Tennessee, you may face assault charges if you’ve been accused of doing any of the following:

  • Threatening to cause imminent bodily injury to another person.
  • Intentionally causing imminent bodily injury to another person.
  • Making any sort of unwanted contact with another person that a reasonable person would consider offensive.

What are the potential penalties for assault charges in Tennessee?

Depending on the circumstances of the alleged assault, you may face a wide array of penalties. For example, if you are charged with simple assault, you can expect to face up to one year of jail time and a $2,500 fine. That said, if you’re convicted of reckless aggravated assault, a Class D felony, you will face anywhere between two and 12 years of incarceration. Finally, if you’re accused of intentional aggravated assault, a Class C felony, you may spend anywhere between three and 15 years behind bars.

As you can see, the potential penalties for those facing these charges are incredibly serious, which is why no matter the type of charges you’re facing, you need a competent Memphis criminal defense lawyer in your corner. Speak with us today to learn more about how we can assist you.

Contact Our Experienced Memphis Firm

No one should ever have to recover from a serious injury or deal with a pressing criminal matter on their own. We pride ourselves in assisting clients facing a wide range of legal issues throughout Memphis, Tennessee, and we are ready to help you, too. If you need assistance with a personal injury, criminal, or business litigation matter, you can turn to us. Contact Ballin, Ballin & Fishman, P.C. today to schedule your free initial consultation with our experienced legal team. 

Latest Blog Posts
Defending Against Drug Possession Charges in Tennessee
What should I do if I’m injured on the job in Tennessee?
What happens if I get a second DUI in Tennessee?