Alexander Pope once said, “To err is human.” Unfortunately, some errors are also criminal offenses according to the state of Tennessee. If you face charges of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, please read on, then contact an experienced Memphis DUI defense lawyer to learn if you will lose your car after a DUI in the state of Tennessee.
Can you lose your car after a DUI in Tennessee?
In Tennessee, authorities do not seek to seize vehicles in every second-time DUI case. However, the law is clear: They have the authority to initiate forfeiture proceedings. As such, it is crucial that you are fully prepared to take action to protect your vehicle after a second, or subsequent, arrest for driving under the influence.
What are the other consequences of a DUI in Tennessee?
If you are driving and your blood alcohol content is 0.08% or above, then you are in violation of Tennessee law. For this type of driving under the influence charge, it does not matter whether you are still able to drive safely. If your blood alcohol content exceeds the legal limit, this alone will establish your criminal culpability. If a court convicts you of driving under the influence you face the following:
- Imprisonment from 2 days to 11 months and 29 days in jail, depending on BAC
- Fine of $350 to $1,500
- License suspension of 1 year
- Attendance in an alcohol and treatment program
- Imprisonment from 45 days to 11 months and 29 days in jail, depending on BAC
- Fine of $600 to $3,500
- License suspension of 2 years
- License restricted to work, school, court-ordered program, or installation of an ignition interlock device
- Imprisonment from 120 days to 11 months and 29 days in jail, depending on BAC
- Fine of $1,100 to $10,000
- License suspension of 6 to 10 years, no hardship license available
Fourth or subsequent offense:
- Imprisonment of at least 1 year
- Fine of $3,000 to $15,000
- License suspension of 8 years, no restricted license available
How can a Memphis DUI lawyer help you?
Reaching out to a skilled Memphis criminal defense attorney to discuss your next steps can make all the difference in the severity of the penalties you will incur. You are innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt or guilty plea. And so, it is in your best interests to fight it. Let us do that for you. Do not go it alone. Give us a call today.
Contact Our Experienced Memphis Firm
No one should ever have to recover from a serious injury or deal with a pressing criminal matter on their own. We pride ourselves in assisting clients facing a wide range of legal issues throughout Memphis, Tennessee, and we are ready to help you, too. If you need assistance with a personal injury, criminal, or business litigation matter, you can turn to us. Contact Ballin, Ballin & Fishman, P.C. today to schedule your free initial consultation with our experienced legal team.