In the state of Tennessee, you can lose your driving privileges for committing a wide variety of traffic violations and criminal offenses. As a result of committing certain offenses, you may face license suspension or revocation which means you will be stripped of your driving privileges for a fixed period. Depending on the severity of the offense you may lose your license temporarily or permanently. However, regardless of the offense, if your license is suspended or revoked you are not allowed to operate a vehicle until the conditions of your sentence expire. If you neglect to abide by the conditions of your penalties, you will suffer significant consequences. If you are caught driving with a suspended license, you will face serious repercussions. One of the most common reasons a person’s license gets suspended or revoked is for committing an alcohol-related offense such as driving while under the influence (DUI). If your license is under suspension or revocation as a result of a DUI conviction, you will face harsh penalties. In the unfortunate event that you have been charged with a misdemeanor for driving with a suspended license after a DUI, contact an experienced Memphis DUI Defense Lawyer who can help defend your interests and rights in court. In addition, please continue reading to learn about the potential penalties for this type of misdemeanor offense.
What are the potential penalties for driving with a suspended license after a DUI in Tennessee?
In Tennessee, if you operate a vehicle while your license is under suspension or revocation, you can be charged with either a class B or class A misdemeanor. If this is your first or second offense for driving while your license is suspended or revoked, you will be charged with a class B misdemeanor. The penalties you will face may include jail time between two days and six months. You will also be subjected to a maximum fine of $1,000. In the event this is your second subsequent offense within ten years of the first conviction, you will be charged with a class A misdemeanor. The penalties you will face for a class A misdemeanor include 45 days to one year in jail as well as a maximum fine of $3,000. In some states, this type of offense is considered a felony offense. However, in Tennessee, it is a misdemeanor offense. Nevertheless, you will still face harsh penalties for this type of misdemeanor.
In the unfortunate event that you or a loved one has been charged with a class B or class A misdemeanor for driving with a suspended license after a DUI conviction, please don’t hesitate to contact one of our determined and adept team members. You have rights that must be defended. Allow our firm to fight on your behalf today.