In the Volunteer State, those who wrongfully take another’s property and do not intend to give it back commit larceny. For more information on the nature of larceny in Tennessee, please read on, then contact an experienced Memphis theft lawyer.
What constitutes larceny in Tennessee?
As noted above, Tennessee law defines theft as the wrongful taking, obtaining or withholding of someone else’s property with the intent to permanently deprive the owner of the property or to appropriate it to a third person. Thus, “theft” includes the following conduct:
- Obtaining property or services using deceit, fraud, coercion, forgery, false statements or false pretenses
- Fraudulent conversion
- Receiving or concealing stolen property
- Using property or services meant for another for your own benefit, or
- Leaving businesses without paying for goods or services
What are the penalties for larceny in Tennessee?
Similar to many states, Tennessee classifies theft offenses according to the value of the property or services involved in the offense. The classifications and their penalties upon conviction include:
Class A Misdemeanor Theft
Occurs when the stolen property (except for firearms) or services has a value of $1,000 or less
- Up to eleven months and twenty-nine days of incarceration, and
- A fine of $2,500
Class E Felony Theft
- The stolen property is a firearm valued at less than $2,500, or
- The stolen property or services has a value between $1,001 and $2,499.99
- Between one and six years in prison, and
- A fine of $3,000
Class D Felony Theft
Occurs when the stolen property or services has a value between $2,500 and $9,999.99
- Between two and twelve years in prison, and
- A fine of $5,000
Class C Felony Theft
Occurs when the stolen property or services has a value between $10,000 and $59,999.99
- Between three and fifteen years in prison, and
- A fine of $10,000
Class B Felony Theft
Occurs when the stolen property or services has a value between $60,000 and $249,999.99
- Between eight and thirty years in prison, and
- A fine of $25,000
Class A Felony Theft
Occurs when the stolen property or services has a value of $250,000 or more
- Between fifteen and sixty years in prison, and
- A fine of $50,000
If you have any further questions about larceny charges in Tennessee, or if you’re current facing them and need a competent attorney in your corner, contact us today. We are here to fight for you, every step of the way.
Contact Our Experienced Memphis Firm
If you need assistance with a personal injury, criminal, or business litigation matter, contact Ballin, Ballin & Fishman, P.C. today to schedule your free initial consultation with our experienced legal team.